Love's Recurring Dream

Regular price $16.00

Coloma is the collaboration between singer/lyricist Rob Taylor and producer/composer Alex Paulick. Though originally from England, the two spent a period of musical education and discovery in Cologne, Germany, where Taylor is still based. Paulick flits between Berlin, the UK and his teenage hometown in California (a few miles from the Gold Rush town of Coloma). This geographical caprice is without doubt one key to the Coloma sound.

The fourth Coloma album is a song cycle with recurring harmonic and rhythmic themes. Lyrically, Love's Recurring Dream is a narrative chronicling the phases of a romance, which symbolically runs over the course of a year. In the twelve songs, singer Rob Taylor follows the progress of the seasons from spring, summer and autumn to winter, with the implicit promise that a new spring will follow. For the recording, a group of musicians was assembled in San Francisco for improvisational sessions that make up the body of the album. Precise editing by producer Alex Paulick brings coherence to these spontaneous takes, with performances ebbing and flowing between rather loose and artificially tight. Under the influence of co-producer Bacchus Marteau, female backing vocals, harpsichords and vibraphones were added to the fold. Pristine mixes by Marcus Schmickler (PLURAMON) ensure that this ambitious contrast of sounds remains delicately balanced.

Artist: Coloma
Title: Love's Recurring Dream
Format: CD / Digital
Cat. No.: ITA083
Release date: 23 February 2009

℗ 2009 Italic Recordings © 2009 Italic Songs